Writers Guild Award Winners 2019

(released 2/20/2019)

The Writers Guild of America 2019 Award winners are:


Original Screenplay
Eighth Grade written by Bo Burnham. A24

Adapted Screenplay
Can You Ever Forgive Me? Screenplay by Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty. Based on the book by Lee Isreal. Fox Searchlight

Documentary Screenplay
Bathtubs Over Broadway written by Ozzy Inguanzo & Dava Whisenant. Focus Features

Television, New Media, and News

Drama Series
The Americans written by Peter Ackerman, Hilary Bettis, Joshua Brand, Joel Fields, Sarah Nolan Stephen Schiff, Justin Weinberger, Joe Weinberg, Tracy Scott Wilson. FX Networks

Comedy Series
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel written by Kate Fodor, Noah Gardenwartz, Daniel Goldfarb, Jen Krikman, Sheila Lawrence, Daniel Pallandino, Amy Sherman Palladino. Prime Video

New Series
Barry written by Alec Berg, Duffy Boudrea, Bill Vader, Emily Heller, Liz Sarnof, Ben Smith, Srah Solemani. HBO

Original Long Form
Castle Rock. Writers Marc Bernardin, Scott Brown, Lila Block, Mark Lafferty, Sam Shaw, Dustin Thomason, Gina Welch, Vinnie Wilhalm. Hulu

Adapted Long Form
The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story. Writers: Maggie Cohn, Tom Rob Smith. Based on the book Vulgar Favors by Maureen Orth. FX Networks

Original Short Form New Media
Class of Lies written by Tessa Leigh Willams. Snapchat

Adapted Short Form New Media
The Walking Dead: Red Machete written by Nick Bernardone. AMC.com

"Bart's Not Dead" (The Simpsons) written by Stephanie Gillis. Fox

Episodic Drama
"Paean To The People" (Homeland) written by Alex Gansa. Showtime

Episodic Comedy
"Chapter One: Make Your Mark"(Barry) written by Alec Berg & Bill Hader. HBO

Comedy/ Variety Talk Series
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver. Writers: Tim Carvell, Raquel D'Apice, Josh Gondelman, Dan Gurewitch, Jeff Maurer, Daniel O’Brien, John Oliver, Brian Parise, Owen Parsons, Ben Silva, Will Tracy, Jill Twiss, Seena Vali, Juli Weiner. HBO

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series
Nathan For You. Writers Leo Allen, Nathan Fielder, Carrie Kemper, Micael Woman, Adam Locke-Norton, Eric Notarnicola. Comedy Central

Comedy / Variety Specials
The Fake News with Ted Nelms written by John About, Andrew Blitz, Michael Colton, Ed Helms, Elliot Kalan, Joseph Randazzo, Sara Schaefer. Comedy Central

Quiz and Audience Participation
Who Wants To Be A  Millionaire. Head Writer: Stephen A Melcher, Jr. Writers: Kyle Beakley, Tom Cohen, Patricia A. Cotter, Ryan Hopak, Gary Lucy, James Rowley, Ann Slichter, Dylan Snowden. Disney/ABC Syndication

Daytime Drama
General Hospital. Head Writers: Shelly Altman, Christopher Van Etten. Writers: Barbara Bloom, Anna Theresa Cascio, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Conner, Donny Sheldon, Scott Sickles. ABC

Children's Episodic and Specials
"The Ersatz Elevator: Part One" (A Series of Unfortunate Events). Teleplay by Daniel Handler. Netflix

Children's Long Form
No nominees

Documentary Script - Current Events
"Trump's Takeover" (Frontline) written by Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser. PBS

Documentary Script - Other Than Current Events
"The Eugenics Crusade" (American Experience) written by Michelle Ferrari. PBS

News Script - Regulary Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report
"Catastrophe" (60 Minutes) written by Scott Kelley, Katie Kerbstat, Nicole Young. CBS News

News Script - Analysis, Feature, or Commentary
"Wounds of War" (60 Minutes) written by Scott Pelley, Katie Kerbstat, Nicole Young. CBS News

Digital News
"Inside The Culture of Sexism At Riot Games" written by Celcilia D'Anastasio. Kotaku.com

Radio / Audio

Radio/ Audio Documentary
"RFK: 50 Years After Shots Rang Out at The Ambassador Hotel" written by Andrew Evans. ABC News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report
"Remembering The Good, The Bad and the Brilliant" written by Gail Lee. CBS News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script - Analysis, Feature, Commentary
"John McCain: A Life of Service" written by Gail Lee. CBS News Radio

Promotional Writing

On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television)
"Tribute to Star Trek for the 2018 Creative Arts Emmys" written by Sean Brogan. CBS

Television Graphic Art and Animation
No Nominees

Video Game Nominees

Video Game Writing
God of War written by Matt Sophos, Richard Zangrande Guabert, Cory Barlog. Story and Narrative Design Lead - Matt Sophos. Story and Narrative Design - Richard Zangrande Gaubert. Narrative Design - Orion Walker, Adam Dolin. Sony Interactive Entertainment

Learn more about the Writers Guild East here: www.wgaeast.org

Print this article