IndieWorks 5th Best of the Fest - April 17th

(released 4/10/2018)

IndieWorks Best of the Fest is April 17th, 7p.m.,  at The Local located at 13-02 44th Avenue, Long Island City, N.Y.

This is year 5 of Congested Cat's IndieWorks short film series.  The fest received 173 submissions and 46 screened through the season that ran June through March.  Each month, a winner is chosen and given the Silver Whiskers Award. The monthly winners along with two audience choice winners will screen again at Best of the Fest and be eligible for monetary prizes.

The usual Q and A session will be replaced with an awards ceremony for Best of the Fest.  Winners will be announced in categories such as the Golden Whiskers Award for Best Picture.  Other categories are Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, and an Audience Choice Award.  Monetary prizes are awarded from sponsors Seed & Spark and 4 Mile Circus.

The Best of the Fest encourages everyone to join them as the series was founded with the philosophy "Discover Shorts. Find and Audience. Build Community." The event is free to attend and open to the public, filmmakers, friends and film enthusiasts. Event organizers hope you will mingle and spark conversation and collaboration with participants.

Here is a list of the shorts that will screen April 17th.

Line-up (screening order subject to change):

The Orange Story (17:29) (*June Winner)
Directed & Written by Erika Street Hopman, Written & Produced by Eugene Sun Park

Sundogs (15:55) (*December Winner)
Written & Directed by Elizabeth Chatelain

Rooftops of My City (15:13) (*February Winner)
Written & Directed by Maya Jasmin

Chocolates (15:13) (*March Winner)
Written & Produced by Patricia Selznick, Directed by Mike Cattelona

Sibs (15:10) (*Audience Choice)
Directed by Cynthia Silver, Written by Samantha Slater

-10 minute intermission

Runaway (19:37) (*November Winner)
Written & Co-Directed by Harrison Heller, Co-Directed by Tommy Kraft

Meeting Macguffin (9:58) (*Audience Choice)
Written & Directed by Catya Plate

Cake (9:22) (*January Winner)
Written & Directed by Anne Hu

Madness (11:00) (*August Winner)
Written & Directed by TJ Choi

Smile (3:12) (*October Winner)
Directed by Bill Kirstein, Written & Produced by Bill Kirstein & Ginny Leise

Print this article