Film Society at the Linc Honoring Morgan Freeman

(released 3/16/2016)

The 43rd annual Charlie Chaplin Award will honor Morgan Freeman.  Presenters for the evening gala include Matthew Broderick and Robert De Niro.  Held at the Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center, the annual gala is historically the society's largest fundraising event.

The honoree Morgan Freeman got his start in off-broadway, built his career through the mediums of theater, television, and film. In addition to producing television, his voice and acting work thrives while using his resources and knowledge to lead in energy, female education, and supporting artistic ventures.

The Film Society of Lincoln Center was founded in 1969 and in 1972 the Charlie Chaplin Award was named to recognize the first recipient who removed himself from exile to participate in the first Film Society Gala. Since then, Bette Davis, Alfred Hitchcock, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Oscar Wilde, Sidney Poitier, James Stewart, Robert Altman and many more have taken the gala stage.  At last year's gala, Robert Redford was honored.

This year's 43rd annual Charlie Chaplin Gala will be held April 25, 2016.

Print this article