11th New York Television Festival Award Winners

(released 11/9/2015)

The 11th New York Television Festival concluded Sunday, October 24 with its awards ceremony and party.  In recent years, the festival has taken place at the SVA Theatre and Tribeca Cinemas.  The NYTVF is one of the festivals to feel the effects of the Tribeca Cinemas closing earlier this year.  The festival readily migrated to the Helen Mills Event Space just a few blocks from the SVA.

For the awards, the big winners of the evening were The Katering Show and The Parker Tribe.  Both shows tied for the Best of the Fest Award.  The Katering Show also won Best Short-Form Digital Series in the Independent Pilot Competition (IPC).  The Parker Tribe also won the Best Actor in a Drama award (David Koechner) and the NYTVF Critics Award. The Katering Show comes from Melbourne, Australia and is created by Kate McLennan and Kate McCartney.  The Parker Tribe was created by Jane Baker from Vermont.

Other winners in the Independent Pilot Competition:

Best Comedy Pilot: "New Partner" created by Quinn Beswick and Josh Margolin (Los Angeles, CA)
Best Drama or Dramedy Pilot: "Riftworld" created by Jonathan Williams, Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith, and Laura Perlmutter (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Best Unscripted Pilot: "Funny Cause It's True" created by Victor Varnado (New York, NY)
Best Actress (Comedy): Becky Yamamoto and Meghan O’Neill for "2 Chans"
Best Actor (Comedy): Marshall Stratton and James Coker for "The Other Kennedys"
Best Actress (Drama or Dramedy): Tiffany Rachelle Stewart for "Black Rose"
Best Actor (Drama or Dramedy): David Koechner for "The Parker Tribe"
Best Director: Andrew W. Chan for "The Midnight Anthology"
Best Editor: Tulica Singh for "Croissant Man"
Best Writing: Bob Borrmann and Luca Stein for "Dead John"

Maura Kelly from New York Women in Film & Television awarded a one year membership to Darya Zhuk in recognition of her work on "The Real American".

In addition to the IPC, there were network development deals and awards announced.

A+E Networks Create360°
? A&E Network: Debbie Isaacs for her project "Win Court" (Las Vegas, Nv)
? HISTORY: Bill Herndon for his project "America's Next Big Franchise" (New York, NY)
? Lifetime: Christian Campbell, America Olivo, and Annette Tanner for their project "Broadway Dreams" (New York, NY)
? FYI Pitch Award: Colin Hogan and Shawn Bowers (Chicago, IL)
? H2 Pitch Award: Steve Sullivan (Chicago, IL)

AMC-Channel 4 Drama Co-Development Award: Tom Moran (Devon, England, UK) for his script "White Rabbit"

Comedy Central Development Award: Marshall Stratton and James Coker for "The Other Kennedys" (New York, NY)

HISTORY Unscripted Development Pipeline: Elena Sorre for her project "Green Rush: Alaska" (New York, NY) - Chosen from five finalists who were awarded development deals earlier this year, this winner will have the opportunity to produce a pilot presentation with NYTVF Productions.

Red Arrow Entertainment and Fabrik Entertainment Development Award: Loren Tarquinio for his project "Mamarazzi" (Los Angeles, CA)

Red Arrow Entertaiment and Left/Right Development Award: Micah Sherman for his project "Improvising" (New York, NY)

Starz Rising Talent Award: Andrew W. Chan and Sherman Alan Kew, Jr. for their project "Midnight Anthology" (Los Angeles, CA)

truTV Greenlight Award: Lauren Ludwig and Laura Grey for their project "Ex-Girlfiend" (Los Angeles, CA) - This winner has been selected to develop a project in partnership with truTV and NYTVF Productions.

WE tv Pitch Award: Kyle Blake (Allendale, NJ)

Print this article