Film Commissioner Cynthia Lopez and Mayor Bill de Blasio at the Made In NY Awards 2014
Film Commissioner Cynthia Lopez and Mayor Bill de Blasio at the Made In NY Awards 2014
Made In NY Awards Honor City's Best

(released 12/11/2014)

Mayor de Blasio and Film Commissioner Cynthia Lopez presented the 9th annual Made in NY Awards on November 10, 2014. The ceremony was held at the Weylin B. Seymour Building. Nine awards were given out to individuals and businesses that have enriched the city's prominence in the Entertainment and Digital Media industries. The awards established on June 5, 2006 by then Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg held ceremony at Gracie Mansion.

The setting for the awards was Weylin B. Seymour's fashioned after a legendary character of Brooklyn. Restored from the original Willamsburgh Savings Bank, it offered sensory stimulation to a visually acute set of attendees. The two domed rooms buzzed with warm hellos, hugs, and moments of catching up among fellow content creators. Cocktails, hors d'oeuvres, and Gracie Mansion cookies were passed around adding to the sense that this was not just a meeting, but a celebration. The domes continued to reverberate the happiness of the gathering as the honorees entered, posed for commemorative pictures, and mingled with their industry peers.

The cast of On The Town took the stage and entertained the crowd with a rendition of New York, New York. Like any proper theater, the lights were lowered to signal the beginning of the Mayor's Office presentation. A brief montage of some of the award recipients was projected on the big screen that served as a backdrop to the stage. The motion projection concluded and a still of the Made in NY logo took prominence.

The First Lady of New York Chirlane McCray stepped to the podium and introduced the Mayor and Commissioner Lopez. Both de Blasio and Lopez spoke of the growing nature of New York's Entertainment and Media industries.  Commissioner Lopez introduced recipients throughout the ceremony giving insight to their achievements as de Blasio handed out the circular objects of distinction. The administration showed tremendous pride and joy when speaking of and extending the awards to recipients.

The winners of the Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment Made In NY 2014 Awards are: Steve Buscemi, Stanley Nelson, Louis C.K., Jane Raab, Lydia Pilchner, Mari Jo Winkler, Rachel Watanabe representing the Producers Guild, Neil Patrick Harris, Aaron Shapiro representing Huge, Rosie Perez and Albert Maysles recognized for 50 years in the film marketplace.

The 2014 calendar will soon be ending and in the final days of this year, the award winners will be featured on

1: Made In New York Honors City's Best
2: Made In New York Award: Steve Buscemi
3: Made In New York Award: Louis CK
4: Made In New York Award: Stanley Nelson
5: Made In NY Award: Jane Raab

For photos of the red carpet and award presentation, please go to the PhotoSeen.

Print this article