Luis Guzmán and Asante Blackk in Story Ave
Luis Guzmán and Asante Blackk in Story Ave
Cinema Tropical Awards Announced

(released 1/11/2024)

The 14th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards were announced on January 9, 2024. New York-based Cinema Tropical was founded in 2001 by Carlos A Gutierrez and Monika Wagenberg with a mission of distributing, programming and promoting Latin Cinema. The Cinema Tropical Awards were created in 2010 to honor excellence in Latin American filmmaking, and it became the first international award entirely dedicated to honoring the artistry of recent Latin American cinema.

The annual Cinema Tropical Awards show considered films at least 60 minutes in length and premiered between May 1, 2022 and April 30, 2023.

Complete List of Winners — 14th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards:
  • Best Film: Trenque Lauquen by Laura Citarella, Argentina
  • Best Director: Chile '76 by Manuela Martelli, Chile
  • Best First Film: I Have Electric Dreams (Tengo sueños eléctricos) by Valentina Maurel, Costa Rica
  • Best Documentary: The Trial (El juicio) by Ulises de la Órden, Argentina
  • Best U.S. Latinx Film: Story Ave by Aristotle Torres, USA
The Latin American winners of this year's Cinema Tropical Awards were selected by a jury panel composed of Mónica Castillo, Senior Film Programmer Curator at the Jacob Burns Film Center; Mara Fortes, Senior Curator at the Telluride Film Festival; María Paula Lorgia, Artistic Director of the San Diego Latino Film Festival; Marian Luntz, Film Curator at The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; and Manuel Santini, Senior Manager, Programming at Film at Lincoln Center.

The winners of the U.S. Latinx Film Awards were selected by scholar Arlene Dávila, Founding Director of the Latinx Project at New York University; Marángeli Mejia-Rabell, Director of the Philadelphia Latino Arts & Film Festival (PHLAFF); and film programmer Ernie Quiroz.

Print this article