National Board of Review Awards

(released 1/10/2023)

In 1909, the National Board of Review was created to support cinema as both art and entertainment. Since 1929, NBR has recognized a selection of outstanding studio, independent, international, animated, and documentary films. The group who views and discusses who will be awarded is made up of film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals and academics. One of the organization's core values is to identify and recognize new talent with Directorial Debut and Breakthrough Actor awards. The organization also provides grants to rising student filmmakers.

On January 8, 2023, the NBR held its annual gala at Cipriani's on 42nd Street to award the 2022 award recipients. Willie Geist of NBC hosted the Sunday evening gala. Breakthrough Performance awards went to Danielle Deadwyler in TILL and Gabriel LaBelle in THE FABELMANS. Best Directorial Debut award went to AFTERSUN director Charlotte Wells.

Best Film was TOP GUN: MAVERICK, Best Director went to Steven Spielberg for THE FABELMANS, Best Actor was Colin Farrell in THE BANSHEES OF INISHERIN and Best Actress was Michelle Yeoh in EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE.

For a complete list of winners, check the National Board of Review website link here:

Print this article