Roosevelt Island Film Festival 2022 Winners

(released 6/27/2022)

Roosevelt Island Film Festival 2022 took place June 23-26, 2022. The festival took place at the Main Street Theater located at 548 Main Street 10044.

RIFF dedicates the festival to discovering and developing independent American and International filmmakers. The festival hopes to introduce audiences to works highlighting female directors, emerging NYC filmmakers, comedy and foreign language films.

Daniel Jordano and Toni Vitale are co-founders of the festival. Cuban-American actor/filmmaker Daniel Jordano is a longtime resident of Roosevelt Island. Having cast co-founder Toni Vitale in his first directorial effort, FROG DREAMS, Daniel was thrilled to become a co-founder with her and help establish a legacy for those in the arts community who grew up, or spent significant time on the Island.

The festival concluded with an awards ceremony on Sunday, June 26, 2022 with an after party at Sanctuary. Here is the full list of 2022 Roosevelt Island Film Festival Golden Tram award winners:

Best in Fest – Feature
"Marijuana Minutes"
Director – Ryan D. Moore

Best in Fest – Short
"La Tristeza del Mimo"
The Sadness of the Mime
Director – Ángel Puado

Best Director – Feature
Olivier Simon
"North of the Night"

Best Director – Short
Ángel Puado
"La Tristeza del Mimo"
The Sadness of the Mime

Best Actress – Feature
Rebecca DeMarco
"Marijuana Minutes"

Best Actress – Short
Janelle Tedesco
"I'm Not Nice"

Best Actor – Feature
Richard Hollman
"Songs for a Sloth"

Best Actor – Short
Clemens Schick
"Geography of the Heart"

Best Female Filmmaker – Feature
Kirsty Bell
"A Bird Flew In"

Best Female Filmmaker – Short
Olive Nwosu

Best International Film – Feature
"A Bird Flew In"
Director – Kirsty Bell

Best International Film – Short
"Bienvenue chez Candy"
Welcome to Candy's
Dir. – Sabine Crossen

Best Comedy – Feature
"Marijuana Minutes"
Director – Ryan D. Moore

Best Comedy – Short
"I'm Not Nice"
Director – Tom A. Capps & Shannon Morrall

Best Drama – Feature
"North of the Night"
Director – Olivier Simon

Best Drama – Short
"Geography of the Heart"
Dir. – Alexandra Billington

Vincent Spano Award
Best NYC Filmmaker – Short
"First Date"
Z. W. Amundson

Print this article